santorini greece couple

Hey there, I’m Ashley!

Welcome to my little corner of the internet!

I started this blog as a way to gather and record all my little musings of life and share some of my interest (or rather obsessions) with you.

I am constantly in awe of the simple allure of the world and there is nothing I enjoy more than staring off into a picturesque moment in wonder. I just love beautiful things! Travel, gardening, photography, painting and cooking are just some of my obsessions I hope to share with you here.

My little family moved to Okinawa in May 2014 and we have enjoyed every second of it! We are incredibly lucky to have the opportunity to live overseas for three years. My mother raised me to never miss out on any opportunity, so when we heard the news that we would be moving here, I
jumped on my iPad and began feverishly researching about everything to do with my new home.  I can say that so far my time here has been very well spent and with the two years remaining I am not planning on slowing down. If you stumbled upon this blog because you too are about to move here please feel free to contact me with any questions, concerns or excitement you have!

I love my dogs, a lot. A real lot. They keep our house interesting to say the least. These two fools will show up throughout my blog so I feel they will need their own bio’s.

ailian shepherd in flower  field

Meet Keira

Keira is an eight year old Australian Shepherd. She has been with me since my first apartment and all major life events from then on. She is my very best friend and I can’t imagine life without her. She is a spunky girl, very independent but the best cuddler on earth.  I have heard from several people that its clear I raised her and we even make the same faces, especially when annoyed with Wade.

brittney spaniel on beach

Meet Kingston

Kingston is a four year old brittany spaniel mix. Wade and I adopted him for our first valentine’s day back in North Carolina. We named him after a town in the small state of Rhode Island where I spent my first 20 years and we both met back when we were 15. Kingston is an old man at heart, always has been. He enjoys lying in the sun and gets grumpy when we stay up to late. He is very OCD (he will circle the car twice before jumping in. Every .Single. Time)  and loves routine.